The Time We Played With Nirvana

So here’s another chestnut from the Lather Video Vault Series.  Almost 22 years ago, Thornucopia got tapped to open the Nirvana/TAD show at the Cattle Club.  The two bands were doing the Sup Pop Records new upstarts type of tour.  KDVS and college radio stations around the country were playing the shit out of Nirvana’s Bleach album, and Tad’s Gods Balls album was doing pretty good too.  I actually found out that we were playing on the bill when I spotted our name in small print at the bottom of the show poster that I saw while walking to class at UC Davis.

The first clip is of our opening song, “Little Ritual.”  I was never a big Throwing Muses fan, but this song reminds me of them a little.  Oh, and line-up – Thornucopia had a few different configurations.  These clips are from the Jed Brewer (me!), Susan Voss, Brian Grattidge, John Licatesi, and Justin Zimmerman  era. 

The next clip is of our closing song – “La Muerte”.  We weren’t a really loud and heavy band, but we muscled up and saved our grungiest for the end.  Some pretty obvious Thin White Rope worship on this song.  I laughed out loud and then groaned when I heard the total metal bridge on this one.

Thornucopia was our first band and we barely knew what we were doing, which made things pretty original in a mangled way.  We couldn’t play anyone else’s songs.  After Sue moved on, Johanna Galos started singing for us.  Here’s a clip from that era.  After putting out seemingly thousands of cassette releases, we issued the “Wake Up”/”Lullaby” 7″ single and the Dry July CD on Lather Records.

Nirvana totally ripped that night.  See their set here.  Tad brought the heavy – god’s balls and all.  Thanks to Jerry Perry for the footage (and the show) and to Greg Hain for editing it.

About latherrecords

A CoOp label for myself and my friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Time We Played With Nirvana

  1. nsoulsby says:

    Good evening to you Mr Brewer,
    hope this message might at least amuse you…Or, I hope, not bore…It’s an inquiry about your former band Thornucopia.

    To explain, I had the good fortune to have a book published about the band Nirvana last year (for the record I’m not a professional, I have a day job – I don’t like the idea of something i love turning in to something I have to do for money). I’m preparing one final book at the moment (a lot of draft material is on http://www.nirvana-legacy.com) around the tales of all the indie and underground bands who have always been ignored in the main histories of Nirvana…So I’ve been getting in touch with people and enjoying hearing their memories…

    Would you be willing to let me email you a max. of ten questions about your past and present musical endeavours and the Cattle Club show in Feb 1990 when Nirvana supported you?
    Thank you and all the best,
    Nick
    nicksoulsby@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

