VU Review

A few weeks ago San Kazakgascar played a Velvet Underground/Lou Reed tribute show at Old Ironsides.  Considering how little we practiced, I thought it went well.  I thought David Houston w/Strings and the Universal Steve did great sets.  In fact, Houston’s string section sounded so good I was nervous to be playing right after them.

We played “All Tomorrow’s Parties” with Mike resting the clarinet in favor of his interpretation of Nico’s lead vocals, and “Venus in Furs” with me doing the Lou vocals.  I think we dialed in the out of tune chorus of the original – a huge stretch.  Thanks to Jennifer Woo for videoing us.  It’s sideways, but as Paul pointed out, so was the Velvet Underground.  If you turn your monitor on its side, Mike looks way more like Nico.

About latherrecords

A CoOp label for myself and my friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

